Iowa Water Fowlers Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Super Moderator
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,
I am tossing around the idea of putting on a shallow drive mud motor. I currently have a 50HP Yamaha on my 1756 Alweld boat and thinking of going with a 35-40HP shallow drive with steering. I have not been around many mud motors and thought id put a post out here for suggestions or thoughts on what you would do. Last few years running my Yamaha during duck season I was sucking up quite a bit of grass and mud. Also, if anyone knows any leads for one that would be great!

·
Registered
1,446 Posts
I have been running surface drive Mud Buddy motors since 2003. Never regretted the decision to make the switch. I run The Mississippi, Cedar, and Iowa rivers. Without my MB I wouldn't be able to get to my blind on the Cedar river. River is as low as I have seen it. I get about three seasons out of a prop, before sand makes it unusable
Water Cloud Boat Sky Vehicle
Water Cloud Boat Sky Vehicle

·
Super Moderator
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I have been running surface drive Mud Buddy motors since 2003. Never regretted the decision to make the switch. I run The Mississippi, Cedar, and Iowa rivers. Without my MB I wouldn't be able to get to my blind on the Cedar river. River is as low as I have seen it. I get about three seasons out of a prop, before sand makes it unusable View attachment 7175 View attachment 7175
Thanks for the info! I was concerned about the sand eating the prop so that’s good to know! Yes, the cedar is insanely low! I live on the Iowa and you can see the bottom clear across it.

·
Super Moderator
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for the info! I was concerned about the sand eating the prop so that’s good to know! Yes, the cedar is insanely low! I live on the Iowa and you can see the bottom clear across it.
Hey all,